Meet Sandy's Family

Sandy was born to support parents in everyday family life and to show children fantastic worlds of adventure.

We are a young Swiss company working hard to bring the most adorable companion in the world to your home as soon as possible.

Marc Zinner und sein Sohn DexterMarc Zinner und sein Sohn Dexter

Sandy's story

May 2016...and the world suddenly turns upside down.

At least that's how it was for Marc and his family when they received the shock diagnosis. Their son Dexter had been diagnosed with cancer - and he was only two years old! The doctors could not possibly operate on the little boy because the tumour was the size of a grapefruit at that point.

After months of treatment, the first relieving news came: the tumour shrank to the size of a tangerine. Dexter could finally be operated on! After four long hours of waiting...waiting...waiting, the stone finally fell from his heart: the operation was a complete success and the tumour was completely removed. And Dexter? Three days after the operation, he was already walking through the hospital again and beaming with Marc.

After this nerve-wracking and painful experience, it was clear to Marc: he had to do something for the parents in this world. He wanted to create something useful and intelligent that would support parents in their everyday lives. From parents for parents.

This is exactly how Sandy was finally born. And with this enchanting product also something more, namely the Sandy family. A family that, together with Marc, brings his vision to life.

Because we care.

Milestones

Erster Sandy Prototyp

April 2017 – First Product Design

As early as 2017, the first product design for Sandy, still very functional in appearance, was completed. Although still a long way from today’s “most adorable baby monitor in the world”, this design laid the perfect foundation for Sandy’s electronics and software development.

Babyphone Sandy

June 2018 – An emotive look & the foundation of the company

Sandy gets a bit of character! This is our product design one year on from our first try. Sandy, then known as Benny, gets some feet, some little arms and the unique sleeping cap for the first time. What’s more, he not only gets a face, but can now be operated much more easily thanks to the integrated display and touchscreen. On June 19, 2018, Marc founds DOKOKI AG!

Babyphone & App

April 2019 – Smartphone operation

So that you can be closer to your loved ones with Sandy from anywhere in the world (where there is an internet connection), Sandy is connected to a smartphone app in spring 2019. This will allow parents, grandparents or even family friends to see and hear how the little one is getting on.

Büro in Hindelbank

October 2019 – Our Office

An important milestone for DOKOKI AG. After months of working with our developers over video calls and Marc and Tobias being stuck in a 5m² room, moving into our own office is both a cause for celebration in itself and a huge boost to our productivity.

Babyphone Sandy

March 2020 – Sandy - the most adorable baby monitor

While everyone else is working diligently at developing technology and software, Sandy is achieving his final shape. Cute little guy, isn’t he? From this point on, the achievements come thick and fast. Preparations for the launch are in full swing; at the same time, the ‘DOKI’ buttons are born and the baby monitor becomes an audio player as well. Work proceeds apace, and it’s only getting faster.

Babyphone Sandy in verschiedenen Farben

November 2020 – Pre-orders open

Sandy’s family keeps on growing! Our team of 13 employees ensures that a fully developed Sandy will be ready go in 2021. To be sure we can handle the initial production batch of 1000 Sandys, our pre-order phase begins six months beforehand, on November 4, 2020. This gives trendsetters and early adopters the opportunity to pre-order one of the first Sandys in advance at an early-bird price.

Produktionsstart Babyphone Sandy

February 2021 – Production started

Sandy is getting closer to the long-awaited delivery! Production of our most adorable baby monitor (1000 units) has finally started; new features are being added to the software. At the same time, the final designs for the packaging and accessories are being completed.

Babyphone Sandy ist ausverkauft

March 2021 – 1000 Sandys SOLD OUT

Sandy’s first 1000 owners have been decided. There are only a few weeks left and then many families will be enlarged by one member. The second delivery will take place in October 2021 at the latest. In addition, the My Sandy website receives the Trusted Shop seal of approval.

Sandys erste Familie

August 2021 - Delivery 1000 Sandys

After Sandy had to do an extra round, the most adorable baby monitor in the world is ready for the world. The delivery of the first 1000 Sandys has begun and now accompanies many children to sleep.

Supported by

Standortförderung Bern LogoSTI LogoStartup Academy Bern LogoInvest Horizon LogoBe Advanced LogoInnosuisse Logo

Sandys Family members

Marc Zinner

Marc Zinner

CEO

Marcellinus Meyer

Marcellinus Meyer

CTO

Roland Stief

Roland Stief

Head of Finance

Marc Schumacher

Marc Schumacher

CSO

Eric Price

Eric Price

Head of Visual Design

Pascal Sollberger

Pascal Sollberger

Online Direct Sales

Save Türkusagi

Save Türkusagi

Community Manager

Vincenzo Russo

Vincenzo Russo

PM Software Development

Voker Peters

Volker Peters

Senior Software Engineer

Achim Müller

Achim Müller

Senior Hardware Design Engineer

Auli

Auli Piedra

Smart Textiles Specialist

Peter Simon

Péter Simon

Signal Processing Engineer

Vjollca

Vjollca Pepaj

Customer Support

Leonora

Leonora Kida

Customer Support

Meet Sandys Familie

Sandy wurde geboren, um Eltern im Familienalltag zu unterstützen und Kindern fantastische Abenteuerwelten zu zeigen.

Wir sind ein junges Schweizer Unternehmen und arbeiten fleissig daran, den bezauberndsten Begleiter der Welt schnellstmöglichst zu dir nach Hause zu bringen.

Marc Zinner und sein Sohn DexterMarc Zinner und sein Sohn Dexter

Sandys Geschichte

Mai 2016…und die Welt steht plötzlich Kopf.

So war es zumindest für Marc und seine Familie, als sie die Schockdiagnose erhielten. Ihr Sohn Dexter war an Krebs erkrankt – und das mit nur zwei Jahren! Die Ärzte konnten den kleinen Jungen unmöglich operieren, da der Tumor zu diesem Zeitpunkt so gross wie eine Grapefruit war. Es hiess: Chemotherapie…

Nach monatelanger Behandlung kam aber die erste erleichternde Nachricht; der Tumor schrumpfte auf die Grösse einer Mandarine. Dexter konnte also endlich operiert werden! Nach vier langen Stunden warten…warten…warten fiel der Stein endlich vom Herzen: Die Operation war ein voller Erfolg und der Tumor vollständig entfernt. Und Dexter? Der lief drei Tage nach der OP schon wieder durch das Krankenhaus und strahlte mit Marc um die Wette.

Für Marc war nach diesem nervenaufreibenden und leidvollen Erlebnis klar: Er musste etwas für die Eltern auf dieser Welt tun. Er wollte etwas Nützliches und Intelligentes erschaffen, das Eltern in ihrem Alltag unterstützt. Von Eltern für Eltern.

Genau so wurde schliesslich Sandy geboren. Und mit diesem bezaubernden Produkt auch noch etwas mehr, nämlich die Sandy-Familie. Eine Familie, die gemeinsam mit Marc seine Vision zum Leben erweckt.

Because we care.

Sandys Entwicklung

Erster Sandy Prototyp

April 2017 – Erster Prototyp

Bereits 2017 wird das erste, noch sehr spartanisch aussehende, Produktdesign von Sandy fertig gestellt. Obschon noch weit weg vom heutigen „bezauberndsten Babyphone der Welt“, kann damit die Basis für die Elektronik und Software-Entwicklung gelegt werden.

Babyphone Sandy

Juni 2018 – Emotionaler Look & Firmengründung

Sandy bekommt Charakter! Nach diversen Entwürfen erhält Sandy erstmals Füsse, Ärmchen und seine einzigartige Schlafmütze. Mit einem Display und Touchscreen erhält er ausserdem nicht nur ein Gesicht, sondern kann nun auch deutlich einfacher bedient werden. Am 19. Juni 2018 gründet Marc die DOKOKI AG!

Babyphone & App

April 2019 – Smartphone Bedienung

Um mit Sandy von überall auf der Welt (wo es eine Internet-Verbindung gibt) näher an seinen Liebsten dran zu sein, wird Sandy im Frühling 2019 mit einer Smartphone-App verbunden. Somit können Eltern, und falls gewünscht auch die Grosseltern und die geliebte Patentante, miterleben, sehen und hören, wie es dem Sprössling geht.

Büro in Hindelbank

Oktober 2019 – Bezug Büroräumlichkeiten

Ein wichtiger Meilenstein! Nach monatelanger Zusammenarbeit per Videocall mit unseren Entwicklern sowie Marc und Tobias zu zweit im 5m² grossen Zimmer, ist das Beziehen der eigenen Büroräumlichkeiten ein Fest und enormer Zuwachs an Produktivität.

Babyphone Sandy

März 2020 – Sandy, das bezauberndste Babyphone

Während fleissig an Technologie und Software weiterentwickelt wird, erhält Sandy seine finale Form. Süss der Kleine, oder? Nun werden Sandys Belly Buttons geboren und das bezaubernde Babyphone um einen Media-Player ergänzt, womit bereits 3-jährige kinderleicht Märchen und Kinderlieder abspielen können.

Babyphone Sandy in verschiedenen Farben

November 2020 – Start Vorbestellungen

Sandys Familie wird grösser! Das Team von 13 Mitarbeitenden stellt sicher, dass wir 2021 einen ausgereiften Sandy ausliefern können. Um die erste Produktion von 1000 Sandys stemmen zu können, startet per 4.11.2020 unsere Pre-Order-Phase. Hiermit können Vorreiter und Innovationsfreunde ein halbes Jahr im Voraus einen der ersten Sandys zum Frühbucher-Preis vorbestellen.

Produktionsstart Babyphone Sandy

Februar 2021 – Produktion gestartet

Sandy nähert sich der langersehnten Auslieferung! Die Produktion unseres bezauberndsten Babyphones (1000 Stück) ist endlich angelaufen; die Software wird mit neuen Funktionen ergänzt. Gleichzeitig werden die finalen Designs für die Verpackung und Accessoires fertiggestellt.

Babyphone Sandy ist ausverkauft

März 2021 – 1000 Sandys SOLD OUT

Sandys erste 1000 Besitzer*innen stehen fest. Es sind nur noch wenige Wochen und dann werden zahlreiche Familien um ein Mitglied gösser. Zudem erhält die My Sandy-Website das Trusted Shop-Gütesiegel.

Sandys erste Familie

August 2021 – Auslieferung 1000 Sandys

Nachdem Sandy eine Extrarunde drehen musste, ist das bezauberndste Babyphone der Welt bereit für die Welt. Die Auslieferung der ersten 1000 Sandys hat begonnen und begleitet nun viele Kinder in den Schlaf.

Sandy sitzt in Schachtel

Dezember 2021 – Alle Vorbesteller sind beliefert

Ein entscheidender Meilenstein ist erreicht: Alle Vorbesteller konnten mittlerweile beliefert werden und sind nun im Besitz eines Sandys.

Unterstützt durch

Standortförderung Bern LogoSTI LogoStartup Academy Bern LogoInvest Horizon LogoBe Advanced LogoInnosuisse Logo

Sandys Familienmitglieder

Marc Zinner

Marc Zinner

CEO

Marcellinus Meyer

Marcellinus Meyer

CTO

Roland Stief

Roland Stief

Head of Finance

Marc Schumacher

Marc Schumacher

CSO

Eric Price

Eric Price

Head of Visual Design

Pascal Sollberger

Pascal Sollberger

Online Direct Sales

Save Türkusagi

Save Türkusagi

Community Manager

Vincenzo Russo

Vincenzo Russo

PM Software Development

Voker Peters

Volker Peters

Senior Software Engineer

Achim Müller

Achim Müller

Senior Hardware Design Engineer

Auli

Auli Piedra

Smart Textiles Specialist

Peter Simon

Péter Simon

Signal Processing Engineer

Vjollca

Vjollca Pepaj

Customer Support

Leonora

Leonora Kida

Customer Support